Since I’m Guest Posting Today…

I would like to run a survey.  Yes, another survey.  I like feedback from you, my readers, because you’re the reason I’m still blogging.  If you’re curious about my guest post, you can find it by clicking this link.  It’s for Eona by Alison Goodman, which is an excellent book even if you don’t generally read fantasy.

Back to my survey.  I’ve asked you guys about what kind of content you like here on The Mad Reviewer, but I haven’t asked what you’ve thought of the blog itself.  So, what do you think?

9 thoughts on “Since I’m Guest Posting Today…

  1. I was going to vote, but then I realized putting my opinion in the comments would likely be better.

    As far as the theme is concerned, I think you’ve got a pretty decent one, but your sidebar does have some strange spacing issues between various elements. That can be cleaned up with some pretty quick CSS work if you are willing to pay the small once per year fee to add some custom CSS to your theme. If you need, I can help you out with the CSS. It would take all of a few minutes.

    I really like it when you write articles similar to the one you wrote about bad reviews today as well as others. You do a good job with them and it breaks things up from being one review after another.

    And yes, I think you should add a contact page.

    There you go, far more information than you were likely looking for. :) Sorry about that, the web developer on me sort of snuck out for a minute.

    • Thanks for the thoughtful comment! I might upgrade to a custom CSS later in the year, once I figure out where I want to go with this, so I might take you up on your offer. I’ve been thinking about a contact page for a while now, but the problem is that adding another tab will make two layers of tabs. It kind of offends my sense of symmetry. Any suggestions about that?

      • The problem with two layers of tabs can be taken care of two different ways.

        The first option would be to consolidate some of them. For example, your FAQ, Contact, and Commenting Policy could all be part of a dropdown attached to your About tab.

        The second option is to use super awesome mega-cool CSS to fiddle with the size and spacing of your tabs. :)

          • Good plan. You can also look into other free themes, or even some of the ones in the lower price range and see if there is something that naturally allows for more space in the navigation. I know there are tons of “clean” looking themes out there similar to the one you have now.

          • Oh, I found a really nice theme that’s basically the same! And it’s free! It’s called ‘Coraline’ and it’s like Pilcrow, but with different fonts and a larger navigation bar. What do you think?

Leave a Comment

